Nilah Magruder Wins First Dwayne McDuffie Diversity Award in Comics

Nilah Magruder, MARYLANDER and awesome lady, won the first Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in comics. She is the creator of M.F.K a post-apocalyptic action adventure where people of color have actually survived the apocalypse. You can read M.F.K. for free here.

For those who are not comic nerds, Dwayne McDuffie was a writer and producer and the man responsible for bringing you Static Shock, Milestone Media (which also brought forward new characters like Icon and Rocket (both were part of the dearly departed series Young Justice)), and the Justice League Unlimited series. McDuffie passed away in 2011 at the young age of 49. Diversity in comics was incredibly important to McDuffie as evident by the legacy of his works and this award was created to honor those who carry on his mission of representation.

The finalists for the first Dwayne McDuffie award were as follows: Hex11," by Lisa K. Weber and Kelly Sue Milano (HexComics); "Ms. Marvel," by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona (Marvel Entertainment); "The Shadow Hero," by Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew (First Second Books); and "Shaft," by David F. Walker and Bilquis Evely (Dynamite Entertainment).

For her part, Magruder was shocked that she won the award which was presented at the Long Beach Comic Expo. Magruder stated comic creators who truly want to represent all people will keep producing content and will not be going away:

We are not a risk — we are an asset. And the industry will be better for our presence. The industry is cynical, but I'm an optimist, and the fact this award exists means it's getting better.


Congrats to Nilah Magruder!